It’s been quiet

DSCF5398
It’s been nearly a month since my last post, and in that time I can’t say I’ve achieved much in terms of progress on my already overflowing WIP sock drawer. Some projects are much closer to completion, whereas others are nearly untouched.
While I’ve been taking a sort-of break from sock knitting, I have made a small scarf/wrap. The pattern is Terribly Simple  by Caitlin French, found on Ravelry. The pattern is so, so easy and done in simple stocking stitch.

DSCF5400

My favourite part of the pattern, are the little curls that magically appear on both ends after casting off. The knitting process took me a few weeks on and off, but probably could have been finished a lot sooner if I had had the time to sit down with it. At one point, near the end, I dropped three or four stitches, and struggled to get a few of them back up, which made me debate frogging back four rows of 260+ stitches. I was going to take a picture for this post of the mistake, which was noticeable at the time, but now it has vanished into the scarf. I’m so glad I didn’t waste my time fixing it.

DSCF5401

DSCF5403The yarn I used was KPPPM, though I don’t know the name of the colourway. I like the yarn a lot I guess, the colours are beautiful, I just found with my two skeins the colours were way off so I had to knit alternating balls, which was kind of annoying at times.
However, I am delighted with the finished product and I’ve been wearing it non-stop since I cast off.
As far as I can tell, posting will resume at fairly regular intervals. I’ve photographed most of my WIPs so I have material to write about, so hopefully I’ll be able to continue blogging a little more regularly.

About snailishknits

22 years old. Knits, crochets, and pretends to sew. Lives in Dublin, Ireland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s been quiet

  1. What a lovely scarf! And yeah, I can see why frogging those rows doesn’t seem particularly appealing! Glad you managed to fix it ok in the end 🙂

    • There were definitely two stitches that didn’t get picked up properly, and I skipped rows on, but they’re invisible now. Maybe if I looked long and hard enough I might find them, but not so far anyway. Thanks!! 🙂

  2. avantaknits says:

    As a friend of mine says, if the mistake can’t be seen from the back of a running horse, don’t bother fixing it! (I have yet to take that advice myself…)

  3. Polo says:

    Totally adorable. The curls at the edge are so sweet.

Leave a Reply

