Eight On the Needles and the Little One Said “Cast off! Cast off!”

 

 

So I’ve got a lot unfinished projects. A lot. In terms of socks alone I’ve got 8 unfinished pairs right now. 
This includes socks that are hardly past the toe, and socks that only need their ends woven in. 
 DSCF5332

Something needs to change.

So I’ve set myself a goal. No more casting on. None. Until these socks are finished and I’m down to about 2-4 projects. Personally, I prefer to have more than one project on the go, I get bored and I like a difference between “hard” and “easy” projects, so it’s not having more projects in itself that bothers me, it’s the fact I have 8 that I’m half-working on right now that is the problem. So hopefully every Friday for the next 8 weeks I’ll be able to show one of these pairs (plus the pair I cast on in the meantime) in all its finished glory!

 

Here are two projects I don’t think I’ve mentioned on the blog before, both socks in King Cole Zig Zag 4ply.

DSCF5333 The pair above in red and grey are for my boyfriend. I’m pretty much to where I would begin the heel turn for my foot, but of course, men have to have such big feet so I’ve still another few inches before I get to that point on these. I like the yarn, but it’s made from a slightly different content to the pair I’m making for myself (below) and it can feel a bit weird when knitting. I think it’s 50% wool 50% nylon. These socks are 3 by 1 rib to make sure they fit!

DSCF5334

 

This is my pair, one of the two that are nearest completion – Vanilla Latte socks on Ravelry. I altered the pattern as someone mentioned in their projects to centre the pattern for a toe-up version. I really like it and I’ll definitely be using this pattern again in another pair. 

About snailishknits

22 years old. Knits, crochets, and pretends to sew. Lives in Dublin, Ireland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Eight On the Needles and the Little One Said “Cast off! Cast off!”

  1. bonnyknits says:

    Good luck! I’ve got seven WIPs and I still want to cast on for another!

  2. josiah_bain says:

    And I thought I was crazy …. 🙂

  3. Den says:

    Oh my goodness! I’m so glad that i am not the only one that does this. 🙂 Socks are my traveling project for knitting group. The stuff where I have to pay attention is for home. 😛

    Good luck!

    • Phew, me either! They’re good travelling project, especially when you have a “go-to” vanilla pattern that you (almost) know off by heart now!
      Thank you!

      • Den says:

        Yes! They’re so easy to carry with you. I have a little notebook to keep track of my heel rows, but otherwise, I just knit away!

      • Den says:

        Oh! And I meant to tell you! I did end up getting yarn for the Water for Elephant socks. 🙂 I hope to cast those on very soon. Thank you for the encouragement.

      • Oh great! Looking forward to seeing your version, what colours did you pick? They’re second on my list of socks to finish soon! — we might finish at the same time at this rate!!

      • Den says:

        I think I ended up with two contrasting shades of blue a lovely blue fingering yarn from Regia. Very dreamy and soft!

      • Oh sounds good, they’re pretty apt colours to pick, blue is one you’d associate with both water and elephants (thanks to cartoons!)!

  4. I can only ever have one pair of socks on the needle at a time! (That’s what comes of being picky about needles and completely failing to find pairs of 2mm circulars!) Have fun finishing them, they feel great on your feet!

  5. Yarnenabler says:

    I’m getting hives just thinking about all those WIPs! Haha, I rarely have more than 2 WIPs, I’m the same way as you, one easy/portable and one more complicated.

Leave a Reply

