Finished Object Friday, socks.

Sorry for the absence, I was having some difficulty uploading photos to WordPress for some reason. Anyway, here I am with my latest finished socks. I’ve been averaging out at a pair a week

My first finished pair were Socks on a Plane done with an afterthought heel. Although I thought the afterthought heel was the one for me, I regret doing it because I don’t feel that these socks fit as well as my others. Having said that, I probably would have done an afterthought heel regardless, to prevent pooling in the self-striping yarn. I still love these socks and think they’re really cute – even if the stripes don’t match.
I’ve worn them two or three times already and the yarn (Regia 4ply) seems to hold up really well and I’m happy with it so far.

Image

 

My second finished pair of socks are Los Monos Locos/The Crazy Monkeys which is a toe-up version of Cookie A’s pattern Monkey.

Image

Image

 

Close up of stitch pattern

The yarn I used was Knitglobal’s superwash sock yarn in the colourway Candy. I knew no matter what pattern I used on this yarn I wasn’t going to be happy with it. I’m not mad on how the colours worked out, but these socks happen to be the nicest fitting socks I’ve done so far. The heel is done using a “no pick-up gusset”. This pattern recipe is one I would probably use again and again.

 

About snailishknits

22 years old. Knits, crochets, and pretends to sew. Lives in Dublin, Ireland.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Finished Object Friday, socks.

  1. crystaldiva says:

    I can do toe-up socks, but I learned on top down and that’s sort of where I stayed!

    Both of your pairs are lovely 🙂

    • Thanks a lot! 🙂 Yeah, I like doing top down too, even though I “know” toe-up is more logical (keeping track of yarn, making sure it fits etc) It still seems as though top down makes more sense to me.

      • crystaldiva says:

        I did toe up once (Cookie A.’s Baudelaire) when a friend gave me a partial skein of Colinette Jitterbug and I didn’t want to run out. But I have small-ish (US 7) feet so I always have about a third of a skein left over. Running out is never much of a concern for me 😉

  2. Those socks are so pretty!! I have only knit one pair and it took me FOREVER!

    • Hehe, thanks a lot! The lace of the crazy monkey pattern actually looks a lot better in that picture since I washed them.
      I think you either adore making socks or they’re ok!

Leave a Reply

