Edinburgh

At the end of May to celebrate a mixture of finishing exams, our two year anniversary and a great Ryanair deal the boyfriend and I jetted off to Edinburgh for a few days.

Edinburgh was fab, I could rant and rave all day and night about how beautiful a city it is and how much fun we had there, but I will limit it to yarn related matters.

DSCF5031
I had debated for a long time before leaving if I should bring a project with me, right up to the last minute in fact. In the end I decided not to, and while I didn’t regret it, we had plenty to do and see, I was still a little sad I had no yarn to play with while there. We also had real active wifi and my list of yarn shops and their directions was very vague. I had heard a lot about K1 Yarns in Edinburgh,  and it was very close to where we were staying – but for some reason, when we went to visit it it was closed!

I magically found some open wifi and searched for a yarn shop in Edinburgh and came across the McAree Brother’s which was about a 20 minute walk from us, but I was only delighted to go.

I honestly don’t think I’ve every bought as much yarn in one go as I did that weekend, I was very excited to finally try some Regia Sock Yarn that I’ve heard nothing but good things about.

DSCF5044

 

 

 

On the right of this picture is a lovely colourway of Regia Ombre Stripe. It’s a lovely blue, green and pink stripe sequence. I never got a picture of it on its own, at lets just say it’s too late now!

DSCF5163

An impulsive find would have been the Knitglobal yarn I bought. I vaguely recognised the name when I picked it up and it was about £6-7.  I was delighted with it at the time, and loved squishing it BUT I’ve since wound it and found it to be much more variegated than I first thought. Not that that’s necessarily a problem but it does complicate finding a pattern that suits it.

DSCF5180

 

The boyfriend picked out this lovely yarn for himself, hopefully I’ll make it into a pair of socks for Christmas for him.

DSCF5181

 

The final day, I had some money left over and made another trip back and bought two more balls of Regia Ombre Stripe. One my first visit I was trying to pick between these two colours, so I was glad to get back and get another two balls.

So despite originally being upset not getting to visit the much anticipated K1 Yarns (which I didn’t realise until I was outside that it means Knit 1), I still managed to get some nice goodies on my trip!

About snailishknits

22 years old. Knits, crochets, and pretends to sew. Lives in Dublin, Ireland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

