Knitting, crocheting, sewing.

So, I have finished college! Woohoo! This happened last week, and in this time I’ve been doing some fun stuff and watching Girls (which is my new favourite show right now). In terms of knitting(and other things!!!) I’ve been working on a few projects right now.
The first is my Green Forest Headband, done in a very unconventional purple. I started this headband in December, and clearly it needs more love before it’s finished. Two more pattern repeats I think. It probably won’t get much, if any, wear until autumn though, but it would be nice to have it finished before then.Image

 

I’ve always wanted to learn to crochet, but for some reason could never really get the knack for it. The day after I finished college, I looked up a YouTube tutorial, and soon enough I was crocheting like there was no tomorrow.

Image

I made three granny squares, and a handful of flower appliqués (not pictured). I really wanted to learn crocheting just so I could make cute toys, because I think they look a lot better than knitted toys.

Image

Another thing I’ve been wanting to do for a while is learn to use the sewing machine. My mam gave me her old one which she doesn’t use any more for me to learn on, but I’ve never really had the time/energy with college to set aside to figure it out. So yesterday, I went and bought some old pillow cases and set about to make a drawstring bag (tutorial here). I don’t think it’s the greatest thing ever sewn, but it’s okay and taught me some basic sewing techniques. The ribbon drawstring has been very crudely hand stitched on, and I’ll probably go over it again with the machine.

Image

I’ve got two sock projects, and one scarf that should hopefully be finished soon. I know it’s only May but I do want to get started early on Christmas knitting this year! I’ve a pair of mittens in mind for my mam.

About snailishknits

22 years old. Knits, crochets, and pretends to sew. Lives in Dublin, Ireland.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Knitting, crocheting, sewing.

  1. machinegunmama says:

    Good for you! On all that stuff lol. Congrats on school you should be so proud (and relieved I bet)! And you’re totally kickin ass and taking names on the crafty frontier 🙂 keep it up!

  2. Megan-Anne says:

    Congrats on our graduation!

Leave a Reply

