Study Break

Finally getting around to posting about my wonderful yarn dyeing adventures of last Sunday. I’ve been really busy with exams and essays so I didn’t have time to post about it until today (I have a short break!). I wanted to make self-striping yarn that matched the hexipuffs I made last week, except I wanted the pink to be, well, pinker.

Image

 

Image

I also decided in the heat of the moment to dye some other scraps blue and yellow, of course that would work out fine!

Imageoh uh, that looks a lot like … green!!

Image

It as a complete accident and not how I intended it to turn out at all, but I love the mix of greens.

Now, back to the main project, which I left out to dry for a few hours and wound into two balls (with the help of my boyfriend) ImageImageImageImage

 

 I was very eager to see if my stripes had worked out well, and lo and behold they HAD!

Image

I’m just working on a plain 64 stitch sock with an afterthought heel (my first time) with this yarn. It reminds me a lot of Fruit Salad sweets, so I decided to do the heel and toe black to match the wrapper.

 

Image

 

I just finished my first sock today and second one is now in progress. I love this yarn! I wish I’d done the cuff in black too, but I like it fine the way it is too.

DSCF3224

About snailishknits

22 years old. Knits, crochets, and pretends to sew. Lives in Dublin, Ireland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Study Break

  1. Those are very cool, I love the strips!

  2. Pingback: Bee Keeper’s Quilt Monthly Progress Update: 4 | Ways to Knit Forever

  3. Polo says:

    Such adorable socks 🙂

  4. Oh wow, your striped yarn worked out really well! And now you get to enjoy your colour-coordinated socks ‘n sweets together 🙂 ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

