Hand-dyeing Yarn and a Happy Easter

Yesterday (Easter Sunday), I was overwhelmed with an urge to dye yarn. I’ve never done this before but I’d read a really good tutorial on how to do it, and I could think of nothing else but to do it. I used some leftover Cygnet Wool rich 4ply in cream to use and attempted to dye it pink and yellow (Easter colours, right?).

Image

Β 

Just as I took this photo it started raining – phew!

I realise now that trying to dye two different colours was probably a step too far for my first dying attempt but I think it worked out okay! I tired two different types of food colouring for it, both gels, Dr Oetker in a mix of hot pink and red and Wilton’s food colouring in bright yellow. The difference in the strength of the colours is amazing. As you can see, despite the strong/dark colours used for the pink, it came out quite pale and continued to become paler as it dried:

Β 

Image

Two little hexipuffs

Because I had just been using scraps, I wasn’t entirely sure of the yardage so I decided just to use it to make hexipuffs instead. I would really love to make a full skein in this colourway and use it to make socks, though I might do the pink a little darker. Next time I will also (hopefully!) more evenly balance the ratio between pink and yellow, but I still like how it looks right now.Β This was so much fun, I barely had the patience to wait during this project, I just wanted to start on the next steps so badly. I can’t wait for my next dye project! Knitting is so crazy like that, you think learning to knit will be enough, but it never is.

About snailishknits

22 years old. Knits, crochets, and pretends to sew. Lives in Dublin, Ireland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hand-dyeing Yarn and a Happy Easter

  1. Polo says:

    That yarn is gorgeous knitted up. Excellent first try at dying, I realy need to get around to that…

    • Thank you! I’d like to figure out how to make it self-striping of two rows of pink & two yellow to make some pretty socks. I’d definitely encourage it, it’s a whole lot of fun!

  2. Yup, knitting is crazy like that! Your yarn turned out great! πŸ™‚ ❀ ❀

  3. Pingback: Bee Keeper’s Quilt Monthly Progress Update: 4 | Ways to Knit Forever

Leave a Reply

