Memories and the Bee Keeper’s Quilt

I started the Bee Keeper’s Quilt in January, and one of the things that drew me to this task was the longevity of it. I knew starting out I wasn’t going to complete it in a year. I’m sure it’s possible to, but I didn’t expect myself to, nor am I aiming for it to be completed in a year. 
I like the idea that when I’m finished this project, certain areas of my life will change. Maybe I’ll be living in a different place, maybe I’ll be friends with new people, and then we get on to more nuts (but still possible) suggestions, maybe I’ll have a house, maybe I’ll have a kid. 
But for now, it’s only been three months in the makings and not much, if anything, has changed. 

Two weeks ago a teacher I had five years ago passed away. I don’t really know how best to describe this, so forgive me if it’s not very articulate. I’ve finished school, and I hadn’t seen her in about three years. Her life, her existence, had no more direct contact with me, and so my life now has not changed in any way since she has gone, but I was sad that this had happened. I still am sad. It’s an awful shame, and I feel sorry for her family and my old school, I don’t like knowing that she won’t be there any more.

I felt particularly sad about her dying so close to St Patrick’s day, which was her day at our school. The day before, she would be decked out in a little green suit, sprigs of shamrocks and go on the intercom to make an announcement about Lá le Padraig.

Image

 

All this in mind, I decided to honour her in my Bee Keeper’s Quilt and (very badly, I’ll admit) duplicate stitched a shamrock onto a plain hexipuff. It makes me a little bit more content knowing that whenever I look at that in years to come, I’ll be reminded of her.

Maith an cailín 

About snailishknits

22 years old. Knits, crochets, and pretends to sew. Lives in Dublin, Ireland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memories and the Bee Keeper’s Quilt

  1. Pingback: Ways to Knit Forever

Leave a Reply

