Bee Keeper’s Quilt Monthly Progress Update: 2

Another day another hexipuff, or at least that’s how my second month of hexipuffing worked out for me.

Image

I had intended to post this on the first of every month, but I was sick yesterday and hadn’t the energy to get up and arrange hexipuffs and take photos and upload them and talk about my month.

My hexipuff headcount totals in at 44 this month.
Month 1: 16, which means we’re up 28 hexipuffs! Woohoo!
(at first I was annoyed by this, because I had wanted to get 1 a day done, but then I remembered that February only has 28 days, so I’m on track after all… And they say knitting and maths go hand in hand)

I’m around 10% of the way through my quilt, estimating to need anywhere between 360 -460 puffs. Right now, my 44 puffs laid out flat measure 16 inches across and 13 inches tall.

Image

I’m not yet at the stage where I’m sick of making hexipuffs and considering putting the project away for months or anything, but I am considering putting it more on the back-burner to focus more on other projects (socks!). While I really like this project, I’m just afraid it’s a bit “dumbing” for my knitting skills, as in it’s the same repetitive pattern over and over again. Obviously sometimes having a very easy and thoughtless pattern is a good thing, I like my knitting to be challenging and don’t want to make such an easy (but long term) pattern the number one focus for me.
Anyway, back to the hexipuffs..

Image

Here are my puffs laid out by colour, as you can see the khaki green ones seriously outnumber the other colours. This month I started working on some “new” colours in my yarn collection, in an attempt to control the number of green ones, but I still don’t feel that there’s a colour balance yet.

Image

So far, I’ve pretty much only been using these yarns that I bought in Tiger, which is a Danish store that opened here in Ireland. They’re ok, pretty suitable in my opinion for this project, seeing as they’ve a high wool content, and are pretty cheap (€2 a pop). I stocked up on the six colours as “fillers” for my quilt, because apparently the yarn in Tiger is not here to stay. I don’t know if I’d make socks out of them to be honest, but they’re grand for this. The yellow sun hexipuff was made from Cygnet 4ply, which I have a nice stash of at the moment for my sock knitting.

Also, this really weird thing happened where one hexipuff turned out a much different size to his brother, how on earth could this have happened?! The one on the right, is a LOT bigger than my other hexipuffs, very strange.

DSCF3150

That’s pretty much all I have to update on in terms of my hexipuffs.. Hopefully next month I’ll have a few hexis made out of scrap yarn from my (hopefully!!) finished socks. Thanks for reading!

About snailishknits

22 years old. Knits, crochets, and pretends to sew. Lives in Dublin, Ireland.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bee Keeper’s Quilt Monthly Progress Update: 2

  1. Verónica says:

    I like the one with the little sheep.

Leave a Reply

